The Journal of Plant Diseases and Protection - now published by Springer

The Journal of Plant Diseases and Protection - JPDP is the official scientific communication organ of  the German Society for Plant Protection and Plant Health (DPG). Since 01.01.2016 it is published by Springer publisher.

In this time of re-organisation please send manuscripts directly to Christian Carstensen (see link below at Managing Editors).

Currently access to previous issues of JPDP is not possible, but will be available again soon.

The costs for the online version of JPDP are included in the DPG membership fee.


The Journal of Plant Diseases and Protection (JPDP) is an international scientific journal that publishes original research articles, reviews, short communications, position and opinion papers dealing with applied scientific aspects of plant pathology, plant health, plant protection and findings on newly occurring diseases and pests. "Special Issues" on coherent themes often arising from International Conferences are offered.

Scientists are encouraged to submit manuscripts on virtually all aspects of plant diseases, pathogenesis, integrated plant protection, biology and molecular biology of viruses, bacteria, phytoplasms, oomycota, fungi and herbivores, including nematodes, mites, insects, snails and rodents. In addition, manuscripts on the interaction with the host plants are welcome. We accept manuscripts from all over the world but the topics should have relevance for European plant health and protection.

JPDP has significant interest in plant protection, including work describing the mode of action and efficacy of pesticides,  plant strengthening agents, and aspects of pesticide resistance. Furthermore, monitoring, forecasting and application technologies will be included. Although JPDP primarily focuses on plant diseases and protection, hence the name of the journal, it also considers manuscripts on legislative aspects.



Stephan Winter

Managing Editors:

Christian Carstensen

Falko Feldmann

Associate Editors

Jesús Avilla, Lleida (Spain)
Beate Berkelmann-Löhnertz, Geisenheim (Germany)
Marco Beyer, Belvaux (Luxemburg)
Claude Bragard, Louvain-la-Neuve (Belgium)
Alicia Cirujeda Ranzenberger, Zaragoza (Espania)
Patrick De Clercq, Gent (Belgium)
Katharina Dehnen-Schmutz, Coventry (United Kingdom)
Holger B. Deising, Halle (Germany)
Driekie Fourie, Potchefstroom (South Africa)
Bernd Freier, Kleinmachnow (Germany)
Florian Grundler, Bonn (Germany)
Johannes Hallmann, Münster (Germany)
Beata Hasiów-Jaroszewska, Poznan (Poland)
Monica Höfte, Ghent (Belgium)
Wilhelm Jelkmann, Dossenheim (Germany)
Eckard Koch, Darmstadt (Germany)
Karl-Heinz Kogel, Gießen (Germany)
Erland Liljeroth, Alnarp (Sweden)
Marcos Machado, Campinas (Brasil)
Edgar Maiss, Hannover (Germany)
David Makowski, Versailles-Grignon (France)
Alexandra Makulla, Braunschweig (Germany)
Solvejg K. Mathiassen, Flakkebjerg (Denmark)
Ewa Matyjaszczyk, Poznan (Poland)
Rainer Meyhöfer, Hannover (Germany)
Ilaria Pertot, S. Michele all'Adige (Italy)
Vittorio Rossi, Piacenza (Italy)
Sabrina Sarrocco, Pisa (Italy)
Gerd Stammler, Limburgerhof (Germany)
Emilio Stefani, Modena (Italy)
Gregor Urek, Ljubljana (Slovenia)
Theo Verwijst, Uppsala (Sweden)
Paula R. Westermann, Rostock (Germany)
Stefan Wirsel, Halle (Germany)